© 2023 Airport Experience® News​

AXN Selects MEM’s Brockman As Director of the Year, Medium Airports Division

BrockmanAirport Experience News has selected Scott Brockman, president and CEO of the Memphis-Shelby County Airport Authority, as its Director of the Year, Medium Airports Division. Brockman oversees Memphis International Airport (MEM).

“Scott Brockman has done an extraordinary job in continuing the transition of Memphis International from a former hub to an origin-and-destination airport, with the latest modernization solidifying that effort and positioning the airport for the future,” said Melissa K. Montes, vice president and publisher of Airport Experience News. “In addition, Scott continues to be a leader on the national stage, working for the good of the entire aviation community.”

Brockman joined MSCAA in June 2003 and was appointed president and CEO in 2014, after having served as executive vice president and chief operating officer. Among his many achievements at MEM, Brockman recently oversaw the completion of a modernized Concourse B that consolidated airline operations into a single, modern concourse for passenger traffic. On the cargo side, MEM regained its status as the world’s busiest cargo hub in 2021.

“I am humbled and grateful for this honor,” said Brockman “More importantly, I am so thankful for the many talented people in aviation I’ve met throughout my career. I have benefited from their knowledge, friendship, and leadership. None of this would be possible without my colleagues, awesome employee teams, engaging board of directors, and of course, my family.”

Brockman is the second of three directors of the year to be named by AXN for 2022. Last week, AXN announced the selection of Greg Kelly, executive director of Savannah/Hilton Head International Airport (SAV), as Director of the Year in the Small Airports Division. The selection for large airport category will be revealed in the coming weeks. All will be featured in a special Leadership Issue of Airport Experience News and will be honored at the 2023 Airport Experience Conference.