© 2024 Airport Experience® News​

SAN’s Becker Named Director Of The Year, Large Airports Division

Kimberly Becker, president and CEO of the San Diego County Regional Airport Authority, has been named Director of the Year, Large Airports Division, by Airport Experience News. Becker is responsible for fiscal management and operational oversight of San Diego International Airport (SAN).

Becker joined SAN in 2017 and has overseen several improvement projects including the ongoing $3.4 billion New T1 program that will replace Terminal 1 with a larger, more efficient facility. With that will come a new array of concessions and other passenger amenities to serve SAN’s growing traveler base.

“Kim Becker is leading San Diego International Airport through momentous change – the entire industry, including the AX Team, is excited to see the long-awaited Terminal 1 project come to fruition,” said Melissa K. Montes, publisher and portfolio director of Airport Experience News. “Kim’s forward-thinking approach, alongside a commitment to environmental and sustainability initiatives, made her an easy choice for Director of the Year.

Prior to joining SAN, Becker was the director of aviation for Mineta San Jose International Airport (SJC) and held operations and environmental positions at Lockheed Air Terminal (now Hollywood Burbank Airport (BUR) in California), and Teterboro Airport (TEB) in New Jersey. She is active on an industry-wide scale, serving on the board of directors and as a U.S. Policy Council member for Airports Council International – North America. She also serves on the board’s large hub, commercial management, nominating and audit committees. Also, within the aviation and travel industry, Becker is the policy committee chair of Gateway Airports Council, a policy review committee member of the American Association of Airport Executives, and serves on the board of directors of California Airports Council.

“I am honored to be recognized by Airport Experience News along with such accomplished leaders nationwide,” said Becker. “My success as a leader is achieved through collaboration with hundreds of engaged employees at SAN. Together we tackle challenges that turn ideas and dreams into reality.”

Becker is the third of three directors of the year to be named by AXN for 2023. In recent weeks AXN announced the selection of Torrance “Tory” Richardson, president and CEO of the Gerald R. Ford International Airport Authority, as the Director of the Year, Small Airports Division, and Cindy Nichol, director of airports for the Sacramento County Department of Airports, as the Director of the Year, Medium Airports Division. All three directors will be featured in a special Leadership Issue of Airport Experience News and will be honored at the 2024 Airport Experience Conference.